Microsatellite "Sphere" fell into the Indian Ocean


25/11/2012

Launched to the ISS astronauts in August microsatellite "Sphere" entered the dense layers of the atmosphere. According to the U.S. Strategic Command his alleged crash site is located in the southern Indian Ocean.

According to U.S. military satellite entered the atmosphere on Saturday at 12.17 MSK and 08.17 GMT, plus or minus 1 hour.

Coordinates of the proposed point of entry of the spacecraft into the atmosphere - 47.5 degrees south latitude and 84 degrees east longitude - is about 1000 kilometers south-west of the Kerguelen Islands, located in the Indian Ocean.

Center for research on space debris Space Corporation Aerospace reports that the device has entered the atmosphere on Saturday in 16.56 MSK and 12.56 GMT, plus or minus 3:00.

Recall that microsatellite "Sphere" August 20 was launched to the ISS during spacewalk by Russian cosmonauts Gennady Padalka and Yuri Malenchenko.

Purpose of the spherical diameter of 53 centimeters of the device consisted of working out mathematical methods for recording atmospheric drag, performed as part of the scientific program of experiments "Wednesday to the ISS."


13-year-old schoolboy in a hundred times increased the chances of "killer asteroid" on a collision course with Earth
NASA asks for help to pick the name of your telescope GLAST
Russia renews a program of lunar exploration
The rover confirmed the possibility of the existence in the past life on Mars
Russia will clear space orbit space debris