Do not miss the event of the lunar eclipse of 21 December


18/12/2010

Everyone knows that "the moon on the bedspread newly fallen snow gives a glimpse, reflecting all around and giving the impression of noon." This phenomenon can be observed throughout the winter, except during a lunar eclipse. This year, this phenomenon has coincided with the winter solstice marked the shortest day and the longest night of 21 to 22 December.

Do not miss the chance to see an interesting picture of Dec. 21, the first day of northern winter, when the full Moon passes almost dead center through Earth’s shadow. Within 72 minutes of the mysterious total eclipse, when the amber light will play in the falling snow glare brought from North America, observers will open landscapes with stunning views of the incident on their unusual rosy shadows.

Beginning of the eclipse will be visible Tuesday morning December 21, at 1:33 am Eastern Standard Time (EST) or Monday, December 20, at 10:33 pm Pacific Standard Time (PST). During those hours, the earth’s shadow will appear as a dark red spot at the edge of the lunar disk. It will take about an hour to spot expanded and engulfed the entire moon. Total eclipse begins at 02:41 ET and at 11:41 pm Pacific time, this phenomenon will last about 72 minutes.

If in case you want to look at the eclipse is only one eye - it’s still December - then the most appropriate time would be Time 03:17 EST and 00:17 PST. This is the moment when the Moon will be in deepest shadow, displaying the most fantastic shades of coppery red.

All eclipse, from beginning to completion lucky enough to track people in North America. But on the whole event will be able to watch all the inhabitants of the planet, since it can be seen from all points of the continents.

Why red shade?

Fast imaginary journey to the Moon provides a comprehensive answer: Imagine that you are standing on a dusty lunar plain and look at the sky. Above his head hangs Earth, the night-side down, completely hiding the sun behind a. It is a total eclipse. In such circumstances, you might expect to see the Earth completely dark, but this is not the case. The rim of the planet is on fire! Circling the Earth’s circumference view of all, you will be able to see every sunrise and every sunset in the whole world at once. These incredibly light rays in the heart of the earth’s shadow, fill it with a copper glow, transforming the way the moon in a big red sphere.

But back to Earth, the shadowed Moon stain newly fallen snow unusual colors, and will not be around so much splendor and radiance as unprecedented mysterious beauty.

Original: Physorg Translation: M. Potter


Cats have discovered the secret life
Evolution in the laboratory: scientists first saw the process in action
The famous turtle couple broke up after 115 years
Marijuana
How to create the perfect tape? Ask the insects!